India enforce follow-on on South Africa after 2008, first team to do so

Under the leadership of Virat Kohli, the Indian team has got success on the cricket field. Away home, they are giving absolutely everything to win the match, no matter the tough challenge.

Virat Kohli celebrates with his boys

When he toured Australia, no one thought that India would get a chance to dominate the hosts. After 71 years, India has won the first Test series in Australia under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. Now, Virat Kohli has once again managed to make another record under his belt.

No team other than India has dominated South Africa since 2008. Yes, India on Sunday became the first team to follow the Faf du Plessis-led team. Interestingly, India has implemented a follow-on against South Africa for the first time in history.

Also Read – Twitter burst Saha's hand

Significantly, England was the last team to give South Africa a follow-on. The Virat-Kolhi-led team implemented a follow-on on the 4th day of the second Test match which is currently being played at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune.

India had a healthy lead of 326 runs in the first innings and that is why captain Kohli decided to ask South Africa to bat again. South Africa were bowled out for 275 on the third day of the match.

As the top-order batsmen fell like playing cards, the responsibility fell on the tailor's shoulders showing calm and restraint. Vernon Philander and Keshav Maharaj shared a 109-run partnership.

Ravichandran Ashwin took four wickets for India and he led the innings. Fast bowler Umesh Yadav, named in place of Jasprit Bumrah, took 3 wickets

South Africa are batting in the second innings and have already lost 7 wickets for 135 runs. Ravi Ashwin and Jadeja took 2 wickets. All the pacers like Ishant, Shami and Umesh took one wicket respectively.

There is no doubt that the Indians will wrap up the series win in style on a perfect Sunday.

(ANI inputs)

Like and share the news if you like.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));