Home Sports PCB announces categories of Pakistani players for PSL 2020

PCB announces categories of Pakistani players for PSL 2020


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday announced new categories of Pakistani players for the fifth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

"The Pakistan Super League will once again best Pakistani talent, as the new categories of local players participating in the PSL 2019 season have been finalized," said a media release issued by the Cricket Board. "Pakistan T20I captain Babar Azam heads the Platinum category, while teammates Shaheen Shah Afridi, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali and Shadab Khan have graduated to the Platinum category for the PSL 2020 season."

Local players are divided into five categories: Platinum, Diamond, Gold, Silver and Emerging.

The platinum category includes Azam alongside Sarfaraz Ahmed, who led Quetta Gladiators to their first PSL title last year. This list also includes Fakhar Zaman, Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Khan, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Aamir.

Ahmed Shehzad, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Rizwan, Umar Akmal and Usman Shinwari are some of the players in the diamond category.

Aamir Yameen, Mohammad Hasnain, Waqas Maqsood, Rumman Rais, Rahat Ali, Sahibzada Farhan will be accompanied by veteran Salman Butt, Anwar Ali and Mohammed Sami Gold.

The Silver category has the highest number of local players like Naseem Shah, Muhammad Musa Khan, Ibtisam Sheikh, Ammad Butt and Usma Mir.

Umar Khan, Ali Imran, Abrar Ahmed, Muhammad Junaid and Muhammad Ilyas are some of the emerging players.

The list also includes players who participated in the previous edition of the tournament.

Teams reserve the request for a floating replacement for players before finalizing the retention. However, it can only be replenished after obtaining consent from the player.